you are not a mistake!

Acts 17:26 (NIV)

 From one man he made every nation of men, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. 

There was a time in my life I would sit and fantasize…. What if I was born by another parents, what if my mum had decided not to have another kid (being the lastborn of my mum), maybe I could have been fathered by the President of the United States, just maybe I would have been birthed into a very rich and influential family 🙂 …. I have also wondered why I didn’t come earlier or later in history. Why was I born when I was born and to the family I was born to? Why can’t I choose my parent and siblings (mind you, I love my family so much).

I have wished I was white, taller, and slimmer for sure. Probably speak British English or polish French language. I have even craved to be a dual citizen at some point…. What have I not wished for???? If only wishes were horses.

Like me, have you ever wondered what difference it would have made if you had been born in a different country, with different parents, or even at a different time in history? Or have you felt that things would have been much better if you lived in a different country or speak a different language? The moment I came across this verse and meditated on it, I was more convinced that it was God who determined the exact time in history when each one of us would be born. He clearly chose who our parents would be, who our siblings should be and where we would live. And it is so great to know that He didn’t make this decision under pressure, but He had determined it before the times began. He made the decision before the foundation of the world, before my Dad ever dreamt of meeting my Mum.

Eph 1:4

Long before he laid down earth’s foundations,

he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love,

to be made whole and holy by his love.

You may want to tell me ‘but I was a mistake, my parents didn’t plan to have me, in fact my dad told my mum to abort me’ yet I am so convinced that it doesn’t matter how or in what condition you were conceived, God does not make mistakes, He is the master planner and he has finished all his works from the beginning of the world…. Your parents may have made a mistake but no conception is a mistake. God takes time to form baby in the womb, how can that be a mistake.

Ps 139: 13- 14

You created every part of me;

You put me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you because you are to be feared;

All you do is strange and wonderful.

I know it with all my heart. (GNT)

For everything and everyone God created, he has a purpose in mind for them, so instead of being unhappy and discouraged about where you are, we should rather be praying: “Father, I know you have placed me here and at this time. How do you want to use me? How can I be available to you so that you can work out your purposes for my life?”

There is a purpose for every creature, just like there is a reason you were created. So don’t waste any more time being unhappy about what you have no power to change. Spend your time discovering the good reasons you were created and begin to LIVE!!!

cheers

 

Leave a Reply

